24 years ago today …………

24 years ago today I met a man who changed my life, but he changed it before I even knew I was going to meet him.
On March 10 1990 I met Simon Furman, it was a chance encounter as we just so happen to be in New Jersey at the right time. He was doing a signing at the Woodbridge Mall (Woodbridge NJ), it was advertised in issue #65 (pictured). So before I go on let me explain how he changed me life. I was a TF fan since 1985 and of course I loved the toys and the animated show. The comic was a different issue for me. It was good but it was not captivating me. If I missed an issue it was no big deal, and the story I felt was flat. The 7-11 where I used to get the comic, stop carrying TF after issue 51 and I did not ever care. At the time I was a teen and yes I loved Transformers but there could have been a turning point for me, the series was not intriguing me anymore. Then an other chance encounter led me to issue #56, which was coincidentally Simon’s first US issue, the cover intrigued me (yes that cover) and I though why not. It was six months since I even brought an issue, so I asked Mom for the buck it cost and I got the issue. It blew me away ……really I read it over and over, for the first time ever I was enjoying what I was reading, and I could not wait till the next issue. I got itchy if I did not get the next installment.  So after reading 10 awesome stories by Simon Furman, fate made it possible for me to meet him.
It was awesome to be able to talk to him, and even though I loved his work, it was just like talking to anybody else, he was a normal, nice guy. We had a normal conversation about Transformers and other stuff. He signed issue #65, right next to the ad in the letter page of the issue about the signing (guess that is part of my OCD).  Thank the fates that I still have the issue, we lost a lot of our comics back in 1994 and 1996, but luckily this one was saved.
It is because of him that I decided to buy other comics and give them a chance, and that led me to the many more series I love to this day. He may not be involved in them, but in some way he lead me to them. He also made me the Transformers Fan I am today, he made a love into a passion, he made a hobby into an obsession.
Perhaps this year it is a big deal for me because it is the 30th anniversary of Transformers and also the END of the original comic book series (the one that I first read his stories in). Regeneration One Issue 100 ……the LAST ISSUE is coming out this month…..24 years after I met the writer.

 

Transformers issue #65

Transformers issue #65

 

 

About michaelalexkawa

I love a lot of POPcurture. I am a big TRANSFORMERS fan, have been since 1985. Also love Anime like Pokemon, Project A-ko, K-on!, Evangelion, and The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, to name a few. I love Action Figures......like Duh!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

